Devi is ready to offer moksha. We should ask the right thing

There are four purusharthas -goals of human existence. Out of these Moksha is considered the most valuable and ultimate aim. Devi is Moksha Daayini

Devi has a name Bhakta-Namra in Lalita Sahasranama. The dhyana sloka says “bhaktanamrām bhavānīm”. It has a meaning that one who prostrates Her devotees. People come to Mother and are very happy to see Her, the same way Mother is also very happy to see Her children. Everyone prostrates before Mother and Mother prostrates before everyone.

Rameshwaram in Tamil Nadu derives its name from the meaning ramayah ishvarah; the lord who stands for the cause of Rama or ramasyah ishvarah; In the same way Devi can be bhaktena namra, the one who is worshipped by the devotees or bhaktaya namra, the one who worships/bow down in front of Her devotees. We can see various shades of Bhakti in different parts of Lalita Sahasranama.

Om sumeru madhya śṛṅgasthāyai namaḥ
[who sits on the middle peak of Mount Sumeru.]
Om śrīman nagara nāyikāyai namaḥ
[who is the Mistress of the most auspicious (or prosperous) city.]
Om cintāmaṇi gṛhāntasthāyai namaḥ
[who resides in a house built of the wish-fulfilling gem.]
Om pañca brahmāsana sthitāyai namaḥ
[who sits on a seat made of five Brahmas.]

What these mantras suggest is that Devi’s palace is built with the most auspicious of the materials. It is built with the Chintamani (the wish-fulfilling) gem. The Chintamani palace is situated in the middle of a garden full of Kalpataru ( a wish-fulling celestial tree). Legends say that worshipping one single Chintamani gemstone is enough to fulfil all the desires, Devi’s palace being built entirely with this Chintamani gem is symbolically stating that Mother fulfils all Her children’s wishes.

Devi is seated on a special throne held by 5 devatas which symbolizes that Devi is doing Srishti (Creation) as 1. Brahmma, Sthithi (Sustenance) as 2. Vishnu, Samhara (Dissolution) as 3. Rudra, Thirodhanam (Hiding) as 4. Eswara and Anugruham (Blessings) as 5. Sadasiva. Hence if we think about the palace, Devi’s abode, Her throne, it is very clear that we do not have to go anywhere searching for anything. She is capable of granting what we need.

Lalita Sahasranama also praises Devi as Kamakshi and Kamadayini. Once few devotees asked the Kanchi Paramacharya Sri Chandrasekhara Saraswati, “What is the reason that you propagate devotion to the Divine Mother so much?”, the Paramacharya remained silent for a while. The entire crowd around him were eagerly waiting to see what the answer is. He slowly replied “Look at what is happening now. Isn’t this alone enough to unravel the divinity of the Divine Mother? I’m a very old man, I’m not able to talk properly neither do I know how to tell jokes nor do I know how to speak in such a way that the lister becomes happy. Most of the time I’m fasting and is observing silence. In spite of all these, see all these crowds are eagerly waiting to hear what I’m saying. What can you call this if not Kamakshi’s Grace?”

There is sloka in Soundarya Lahari that goes like this
Naram varshiyamsam nayana virasam narmasu jadam,
Thava panga loke pathitha manudhavanthi sathasa
Gala dweni bhandha kuch kalasa visthrutha sichaya
Hatath thrudyath kanchyho vigalidha dhukoola yuva thaya
. (SL 13)

With dishevelled hair and with upper cloths slipping from their busts, with the lock of the golden belt getting open due to the haste, and with saris slipping away from their shoulders, hundreds of young women run after those who get your sidelong glance, even though they are very old, bad looking and not interested in love sports.

What is implied is when you go after the devotees of Devi who has Her Grace, not only that devotee but those who follow him/her will also be liberated. They go beyond the body consciousness. They become one with the Mother. Each of their actions becomes the actions of the Mother.

Self Realisation is the ultimate goal in one’s life. Eating, drinking, sleep, fear, procreation all these are seen in all living beings but humans have developed the principles of discrimination, dharma & knowledge. Using these uplifting oneself to the supreme state should be the goal of human life. There are four purusharthas (goals of human existence) 1. Dharma (Righteousness), 2.Artha (Prosperity), 3.Kama (Pleasure) & 4.Moksha (Liberation). Out of these Moksha is considered. the most valuable and ultimate aim.

Devi is Moksha Daayini (One who liberates us). Imagine one became friends with a king. The king is the custodian of infinite wealth. How would it sound when the friend asks the king Rs.500! The king is capable of giving anything. How foolish would it be to return from his palace with a cucumber from the palace kitchen! Devi is ready to offer us the kingdom of moksha. We should ask the right thing, that’s all.